Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

"If you don't like it, don't buy it"

I've been playing Sims for 12 years. I've lost count how much money I've spent on expansions, base games, store content, stuff packs, etc. Over the last year, I've been following the forums both here and on Facebook lamenting Sims 4 and everything that's wrong with it. People are unhappy and they're vocalizing it. Sims 4 is not a perfect game by any means. I think even avid fans can admit that a good deal is missing from the base game and while momentarily fun, the expansions are also lacking. At this point, it's all been said so I won't bore you with MY list of what's wrong with the game. You get it. Some people LOVE it, some people HATE it, some people are willing to stick it out and give it a chance. I'm the latter. I'm sticking it out because I've invested time, money, and love into The Sims. I feel like everyone deserves a second chance, but my patience is running thin.

That all said, one of the more inconsiderate comments I've come across in these discussions again and again is: "If you don't like it, don't buy it". It's not that simple. Sims isn't just a game for me. It's been my salvation. It's been a way for me to get out of the real world for a minute and play with my imagination. In the last 10 years I've moved 4 times, lost my father, 3 grandparents, my mother-in-law, my father-in-law, and 2 beloved cats. I've started a new career, my mother had brain surgery, my sister got divorced, and my brother got into some trouble with the law (after living with me for a year). Needless to say, it's been rough. How do I turn my back on the one constant in my life? How do I turn my back on the characters I've created, whose little lives have brought me so much joy? Maybe Sims isn't that way for you, but it's that way for a lot of people. It's a break from the poop storm of life.