Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

The Whittaker Saga - 1930: Life in San Myshuno (5/04)

JALJAL Posts: 1,055 Member
I was vastly inspired when reading the decades challenge, and as a history teacher, I could not stop myself from giving it a try. Of course, true to my nature or refusing to do things by the book, the first thing I did was break the rules. How? By creating as my protagonist a single, working woman living on her own! Gasp!

Why? Partly because a story popped into my head, but also, partly, to honor the many women who - by choice or necessity - actually worked, and worked hard for their living in the 1890s. We tend to forget them, but the working women were there - from the hard working farmers that we often downgrade by calling wives, as if they weren't an essential part of the economy of the farm, to the working class women working as domestic help or in the factories where they were only payed half of a man's wages.

So with that, I introduce Abigail Spencer, a single, working, middle class woman in 1890s Willow Creek:
AVvXsEgQJlCADbRW47ERq4XnzBFoG9vusYaAkrrn-FM59_3v_lBicthnSqYCSpoZFAUXwIfaLDiXeOUcqbBCEfGYlmkxdCRMRPuI-EiIVjd3X4oF1tyLWRyH9XQ-72I2WdvxFyRnRIXWFMMlTU3q5LpD6dFOPYz2TmWJIUddlTMR_CxEXAE7-2jjkWqkI7Li4gB4=w640-h270
AVvXsEjsvnm_AeKGTr-yJfvWwLT96FrgTew4uDwk840DgIO_3cUTJIJMdw6encS7VMlLTHfqleRKQoAU9aRqffxlNyPa37qw-6kRh4UDUslSoIVu6bI_0YX5mZNjJwtFqW59AS70rcBOXwfJKXWUM9Bn9PcQi6RYYu8-4ONmBJvMSOepRndIIG7aKhjNh_Fq8LaE=w400-h306

As middle class there is only a few jobs available to Abigail, that of governess or that of teacher. Abigail is therefore a teacher, teaching at Willow Creek Elementary School.
AVvXsEgm__tNPgeoTe72hyfeHN4-Pu2vdwJFrARAM7KY668sIAVAJS1ui3RnX28K-YFPSsvRjnElwykFHVOYaIRSABiz0LhQ-Bk8K0LANFUhVzSI_FmyfSBWGEY2JM6PcX_4myOYT77rQCjyN7iGB8hsJCcUSoiD_RgMuWt95m2CDL8Dkt2x0LJf1M9RD8k_w5Vs=w640-h354