Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Seasons: Snow Depth and Accumulation?

Comments

• Options
    the_greenplumbobthe_greenplumbob Posts: 6,105 Member
    Well maybe it's not quite done yet? Maybe they made the video a while ago and they've since added depth? 'Cos I gotta admit, I'm dead excited about this EP but I noticed the lack of depth for the snow as well. I'm hoping it'll be there when it's launched.

I'm hoping that what we saw from the trailers were an earlier build. I don't know how long trailers take to make, but I'm assuming they must have began sorting out their marketing around January (planning / story boards in January, filming all the shots for the trailer in February, editing them in March, finalising everything in April etc.). Perhaps what we saw the other day (that house in Windenburg) is actually light snow, seeing as it's not actually snowing).

I mean - I'm not a producer, so I don't know how these things work, but it seems plausible...
  • Options
    SimDestroyerSimDestroyer Posts: 335 Member
    edited May 2018
    jackjack_k wrote: »
    @06Bon06 wrote: »
    Would it have been nice? Sure, but frankly I can understand how it wouldn’t be possible. There is no terrain in Sims 4, the world is a giant object. How are they supposed to make dynamic snow that accumulates on terrain when there is no distinction between grass, road, or sidewalk? They would have to make unique snow objects that appear or disappear over the entire map matching the form of the world object. That’s a significant amount of work considering the number of unique zones we have. I’ll take this, because it’s better than having no seasons.

For anyone saying it’s 2018 and comparing how it was done in Sims 2 or 3, those games were built differently. The worlds were built differently. It’s not a matter of what technology can do in this age, but what they can do with the technology they have available for this game.