Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Do You Honestly Think Toddlers Will Be Back?

13...Next

Comments

• Options
    CK213CK213 Posts: 20,539 Member
    mwdonohue wrote: »
    Okay. I'm not trying to create a flame war thread here, but seriously, do you think they'll be back? I've been messing around with python and while yes, it is a powerful language, I just don't see how you can include a whole other life stage and have it work properly. Even though I'm still extremely new to python and am probably missing something (as I have not seen the source code for the sims game), using python alone, I just cannot see it. Python isn't exactly designed for simulation games like the sims. It is powerful, but it has a much better use with web applications and such. Oh well... Just wanted to see what the sims community thought.

I know nothing about Python, but if they can't expand on the game with toddlers, wouldn't that mean they can't add anything to the game without difficulty. That sounds like expansion packs will be a mess, or simple and underwhelming.

I believe we will have them. I don't believe they will come in a patch.
    The%20Goths.png?width=1920&height=1080&fit=bounds
  • Options
    applefeather2applefeather2 Posts: 4,003 Member
    I don't know Python either, but if they can do this much with it, they can do more.
  • Options
    Wildley CuriousWildley Curious Posts: 5,349 Member
    Well, Graham did say they didn't want to "just shoe-horn them in", so that, to me, gives a little bit of hope that a later addition might just happen. It's slim, I know, but it isn't a flat-out "No," as far as I can see.

Unfortunately it depends on how the word "shoehorn" is interpreted. It could also mean there isn't enough room in the game engine. That could very well have been our "no." :(

shoe·horn
    ˈSHo͞oˌhôrn/
    noun
    noun: shoe-horn

verb
    verb: shoe-horn

1. force into an inadequate space.