Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

What is SimCity and should I buy it?

Hi everyone, just seen that SimCity is available on Origin at the moment for £4.49 (Standard Edition) or £6.24 (Complete Edition).

I know nothing about this game except for that you obviously build up a city/cities, but what is exactly involved in the game? It sounds fun but I don't really know any details and I find it confusing to try and read up about it because there seems to be different iterations but Origin just calls it 'SimCity' not 'SimCity 4' or anything like that. Complete newbie with this haha.

If you do recommend it, should I get Standard (Base Game and Plumbob Park) or Complete (Base Game, Plumbob Park, Cities of Tomorrow, Heroes and Villains Set, City Sets- British, French and German, Airships Set and Amusement Park).

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, wasn't sure where to post, but know a lot of The Sims players seem to play this or other games too. I've only ever played The Sims (2 and 4 mainly), so don't know where to start with other games!
Gallery name is 2000_mollymoo💙

Comments

• Options
    2011simone2011simone Posts: 2,444 Member
    Sim city is fun if you like city builders, definitely worth it at that price.
    My origin id is sim2011
  • Options
    CamkatCamkat Posts: 2,329 Member
    Really what is involved is what you think. You build cities. That's it. You do have to make sure everything has access to utilities and there's a few types of buildings available but it's really just a city simulation. You watch it grow. Tax the citizens. There's not a whole lot of difference between the different versions either, they are all about the same (build cities), just graphics quality and some quality of life adjustments with some of the controls. I make it sound so boring but it's really not! haha! It's worth it at those prices and if I would you and you can afford the extra couple quid you might as well get it all. ;)