October 18 - Take a look at the Friday Highlight and discover some awesim discussions! Click me!
October 18, correction: 11AM PDT - Join us for a Guru Garage! Details here.
October 10 - A new The Sims 4 update is ready for you on Xbox One and PlayStation 4! Details here

The Sims 2 Windows 7-10 Fixes

15678911...Next

Comments

  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    Game not start. Error message: "An error has occurred. The application will now exit.". I did it by copying those 32-bit files to the Sims2EP9.exe folder of The Sims 2.
  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    > @Reittis said:
    > Game not start. Error message: "An error has occurred. The application will now exit.". I did it by copying those 32-bit files to the Sims2EP9.exe folder of The Sims 2.

    My system

    - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, AM4, 3.7 GHz, 8-core
    - Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) Vengeance LPX Red, DDR4 2666MHz, CL16, 1.2V
    - Corsair 750W RM750x (2018), power, 80 Plus Gold
    - Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium Edition, ATX -miditocase
    - ASRock X470 Master SLI, ATX-motherboard
    - Sapphire RX Vega 64 NITRO+ graphics card, 8GB HBM2
    - Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    - Asus 27" MG279Q IPS-monitor WQHD, 144Hz, Freesync, pivot, DP/mDP/2xHDMI/USB 3.0
  • MoneyquarterMoneyquarter Posts: 8 New Member
    > @Reittis said:
    > > @Reittis said:
    > > Game not start. Error message: "An error has occurred. The application will now exit.". I did it by copying those 32-bit files to the Sims2EP9.exe folder of The Sims 2.
    >
    > My system
    >
    > - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, AM4, 3.7 GHz, 8-core
    > - Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) Vengeance LPX Red, DDR4 2666MHz, CL16, 1.2V
    > - Corsair 750W RM750x (2018), power, 80 Plus Gold
    > - Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium Edition, ATX -miditocase
    > - ASRock X470 Master SLI, ATX-motherboard
    > - Sapphire RX Vega 64 NITRO+ graphics card, 8GB HBM2
    > - Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    > - Asus 27" MG279Q IPS-monitor WQHD, 144Hz, Freesync, pivot, DP/mDP/2xHDMI/USB 3.0

    Can you upload the log files somewhere? Particularly Sims2EP9_d3d9.txt?
  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    > @Moneyquarter said:
    > > @Reittis said:
    > > > @Reittis said:
    > > > Game not start. Error message: "An error has occurred. The application will now exit.". I did it by copying those 32-bit files to the Sims2EP9.exe folder of The Sims 2.
    > >
    > > My system
    > >
    > > - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, AM4, 3.7 GHz, 8-core
    > > - Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) Vengeance LPX Red, DDR4 2666MHz, CL16, 1.2V
    > > - Corsair 750W RM750x (2018), power, 80 Plus Gold
    > > - Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium Edition, ATX -miditocase
    > > - ASRock X470 Master SLI, ATX-motherboard
    > > - Sapphire RX Vega 64 NITRO+ graphics card, 8GB HBM2
    > > - Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    > > - Asus 27" MG279Q IPS-monitor WQHD, 144Hz, Freesync, pivot, DP/mDP/2xHDMI/USB 3.0
    >
    > Can you upload the log files somewhere? Particularly Sims2EP9_d3d9.txt?

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/bvveq329dyqidj9/AACxG6UgGIrWzrMXCu0ym7FOa?dl=0
  • Choco446Choco446 Posts: 25 Member
    The Sims 2 UC is so laggy on my computer and I have no idea why. I'm pretty sure my computer should be able to run the game fun as it runs all the other sims games fine.
  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    > @Choco446 said:
    > The Sims 2 UC is so laggy on my computer and I have no idea why. I'm pretty sure my computer should be able to run the game fun as it runs all the other sims games fine.

    Computer is not problem. Windows 10 and The Sims 2 compatibility is. The game work very well Windows XP, Vista and 7 versions.
  • Choco446Choco446 Posts: 25 Member
    Reittis wrote: »
    Computer is not problem. Windows 10 and The Sims 2 compatibility is. The game work very well Windows XP, Vista and 7 versions.

    Okay. I'll run the game with these settings and see how it goes!
  • Choco446Choco446 Posts: 25 Member
    Choco446 wrote: »
    Reittis wrote: »
    Computer is not problem. Windows 10 and The Sims 2 compatibility is. The game work very well Windows XP, Vista and 7 versions.

    Okay. I'll run the game with these settings and see how it goes!

    I ran the game in Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) and it definitely help fix a lot of the lag. But it's still extremely laggy when I go into 3x speed. Is there any way to fix/improve this?
  • AcidfairyyyAcidfairyyy Posts: 45 Member
    Hi, I'm trying to get Sims 2 to run on a new laptop. I've amended the graphics rules file but when I used the edge smoothing slider, it's not actually smoothing the edges. This didn't happen on my old laptop. Any ideas on how to fix it?
  • MoneyquarterMoneyquarter Posts: 8 New Member
    > @Reittis said:
    > > @Moneyquarter said:
    > > > @Reittis said:
    > > > > @Reittis said:
    > > > > Game not start. Error message: "An error has occurred. The application will now exit.". I did it by copying those 32-bit files to the Sims2EP9.exe folder of The Sims 2.
    > > >
    > > > My system
    > > >
    > > > - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, AM4, 3.7 GHz, 8-core
    > > > - Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) Vengeance LPX Red, DDR4 2666MHz, CL16, 1.2V
    > > > - Corsair 750W RM750x (2018), power, 80 Plus Gold
    > > > - Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium Edition, ATX -miditocase
    > > > - ASRock X470 Master SLI, ATX-motherboard
    > > > - Sapphire RX Vega 64 NITRO+ graphics card, 8GB HBM2
    > > > - Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    > > > - Asus 27" MG279Q IPS-monitor WQHD, 144Hz, Freesync, pivot, DP/mDP/2xHDMI/USB 3.0
    > >
    > > Can you upload the log files somewhere? Particularly Sims2EP9_d3d9.txt?
    >
    > https://www.dropbox.com/sh/bvveq329dyqidj9/AACxG6UgGIrWzrMXCu0ym7FOa?dl=0

    I've updated the guide. Could you try removing dxgi.dll?
  • MoneyquarterMoneyquarter Posts: 8 New Member
    Also, could you redownload D9VK? An earlier guide erroneously linked to 0.21. Also, I've updated my guide greatly, if you want to take a look at it again. If you're still having troubles, hit up the pleasantsims discord's #sims-2-help channel and mention @crazysim.
  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    OMG Its working now after years of trying! Thanks a lot! I hope the upcoming Windows 10 feature updates won't break the game again.
  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    > @Reittis said:
    > OMG Its working now after years of trying! Thanks a lot! I hope the upcoming Windows 10 feature updates won't break the game again.

    So i put the latest d3d9.dll, dxvk.conf files in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Fun with Pets\SP9 \TSB" folder and changed the graphics settings as instructed by Graphics Rules Maker. (Force texture memory 128 Mb).
  • MoneyquarterMoneyquarter Posts: 8 New Member
    I'm glad to see it is working for you! I strongly believe the D9VK approach is the way to go in 2020 and beyond fo running Sims 2 on modern Windows 10 systems.
  • ReittisReittis Posts: 16 New Member
    > @Moneyquarter said:
    > I'm glad to see it is working for you! I strongly believe the D9VK approach is the way to go in 2020 and beyond fo running Sims 2 on modern Windows 10 systems.

    I hope so. I previously tried installing The Sims 2 on Virtualbox in XP and 7 system but the Virtualbox does not support DirectX so the installation failed. Fortunately, I Have an old XP machine in the closet where I installed Origin offline and it works well with The Sims 2. This is for a "bad day" if the game stops working in future versions of Windows 10.
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top