June 21 - Ready for a launch day livestream? SimGurus will be answering Island Living related questions today! Details here.
June 18 - Patch day for The Sims 4 on PC/Mac! Take a look at what changed on PC/Mac here

Color Magic - bugfix

granthesgranthes Posts: 93 Member
I just released a new version of the Color Magic tool for doing recolors on clothing items (and potentially hair/tattoo/makeup/etc.)

The previous versions have been somewhat buggy and have failed in some interesting ways. This version fixes some of the known bugs.

You can find Color Magic at my site Sims4 Stuff n Things.

Also, for those who have had the issue where the recolor you created causes the demo to crash when you hover over the swatch, there is a potential work-around.

I was able to follow these steps to "fix" a recolor that crashed:
  • Load the faulty item in S4PE
  • Find the CASP entry and double click it
  • Check the Use Resource Name checkbox
  • Type in the unique name you used in Color Magic And then ADD something to it. I used an extra _ character before the color name.
  • Hit the FNV-64 button
  • Hit OK
  • Save and close S4PE

Please let me know, either here, or at the download link above if this does or does not work to fix the swatch hover crashes you may be seeing.

P.S.: If you have a recolor that crashes, please post at Sims4 Stuff n Things what the CASP resource's Instance value from S4PE is. If we can gather enough of these numbers, we might be able to figure out why they cause the crash.

P.P.S: It seems that some versions of S4PE won't work with the above process.
An alternative is to use the CTRL-F command in S4PE and put the new name in the "Text to hash" box and hit calculate. Copy the number from the FNV64 box, then double click on the CASP and paste in the Instance box.
Post edited by granthes on
Grant (granthes)
Developer of Sims 4 Modding Tools -- Sims 4 Stuff n Things

Comments

  • simfeetundersimfeetunder Posts: 2,260 Member
    Each time we need to switch to a newer CM release is the best way just to select all the installed stuff and delete it? It doesn't show up in my programs to uninstall so I've been doing it this way.
    Also, thanks for being awesome :)
    HSon1Mq.png
  • granthesgranthes Posts: 93 Member
    @simfeetunder, just delete the folder you have it in and unzip the new one. I don't install any registry entries or anything.

    There is a settings file in /Users/<your user>/AppData/Local/the-prof.net and a log file in <Documents>\the-prof.net\Color Magic\logs, but those are automatically recreated if needed.
    Grant (granthes)
    Developer of Sims 4 Modding Tools -- Sims 4 Stuff n Things
  • simfeetundersimfeetunder Posts: 2,260 Member
    @granthes, I've tried three times the info above for the recolors that crash and get an unhandled exception error popup. It says "Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the colection. Parameter name: index"
    Any idea?
    HSon1Mq.png
  • Srikandi715Srikandi715 Posts: 1,753 Member
    edited August 2014
    I had the same problem as you, @simfeetunder :) S4PE bug, I guess. There's a workaround:
    1. Hit ctrl-F before you double click the CASP line; this brings up an FNV converter.
    2. In the top line, type or paste in the NEW name of the item (what you're renaming to).
    3. Then click the "Calculate" button.
    4. Copy the hex number in the FNV 64 line.
    5. Close the converter.
    6. Double-click the CASP entry.
    7. Now you can paste the FNV result you got into the Instance field.
    60502_140817020656Instance.jpg


    By the way, I fixed three skirts that previously caused crashes using this method. No idea what it is about certain indexes that the demo doesn't like, but I haven't had a fix fail yet.

    Edit: That's a longer version of the same instruction in Grant's edited post above.
    Post edited by Srikandi715 on
  • simfeetundersimfeetunder Posts: 2,260 Member
    I had the same problem as you, @simfeetunder :) S4PE bug, I guess. There's a workaround:
    1. Hit ctrl-F before you double click the CASP line; this brings up an FNV converter.
    2. In the top line, type or paste in the NEW name of the item (what you're renaming to).
    3. Then click the "Calculate" button.
    4. Copy the hex number in the FNV 64 line.
    5. Close the converter.
    6. Double-click the CASP entry.
    7. Now you can paste the FNV result you got into the Index field.

    By the way, I fixed three skirts that previously caused crashes using this method. No idea what it is about certain indexes that the demo doesn't like, but I haven't had a fix fail yet.

    Edit: That's a longer version of the same instruction in Grant's edited post above.

    I might be missing something/doing it wrong, @Srikandi715, I'm still getting the error I mentioned above. (and just to check, index field?)
    HSon1Mq.png
  • Srikandi715Srikandi715 Posts: 1,753 Member
    edited August 2014
    Whoops... Instance field :) SOrry about that! Editing...

    Still getting the error? :( No idea why Grant doesn't get it ;) Maybe make a bug report to Kuree (S4PE developer) at Simlogical, so he can fix that.

    Edit: Oh, Grant compiled his own copy, and fixed it himself ;)
  • simfeetundersimfeetunder Posts: 2,260 Member
    Whoops... Instance field :) SOrry about that! Editing...

    Still getting the error? :( No idea why Grant doesn't get it ;) Maybe make a bug report to Kuree (S4PE developer) at Simlogical, so he can fix that.

    Edit: Oh, Grant compiled his own copy, and fixed it himself ;)

    I'll have to try some more after I go to sleep, now none of my newer made stuff is showing up, just the three shirts I made a few days ago.
    HSon1Mq.png
  • kiwisims4kiwisims4 Posts: 36 Member
    thanks it worked for me :)so stoked
  • zosiahzosiah Posts: 13 New Member
    edited August 2014
    *I have never done this* but i really want to make my own CC.

    First, I DOWNLOADED S4pe and TS4CASRecolor Tool (the updated version)

    and of course, there is a problem. i'm so frustrated! :(
    it says this, and under TAG it says "UNKN":

    Version: 0x0000001A
    TGIoffset: 0x0000012F
    PresetCount: 0x00000000
    Name: Sophie_yfTop_TShirtLong_StripeGrayPink
    SortPriority: 245.0000
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown1 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 14 00 C7 1E 00 00 C5 9D 1C 81 2C 00 00 00 00 00 | ..Ç...Å...,.....
    10 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 | .......
    ---
    --- IndexList`1: Unknown2 (0xC) ---
    [0]: 0x00540044
    [1]: 0x00480044
    [2]: 0x01230044
    [3]: 0x00470044
    [4]: 0x02140060
    [5]: 0x004D0046
    [6]: 0x00510046
    [7]: 0x00F00042
    [8]: 0x00F50042
    [9]: 0x00F60042
    [A]: 0x00ED0042
    [B]: 0x01280051
    ---
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown3 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 00 00 00 00 9B 99 93 D2 FB 7A DB 3D 00 06 00 00 | .......ÒûzÛ=....
    10 | 00 08 00 00 00 78 20 00 00 01 00 | .....x.....
    ---
    Unknown4: [0:'0xFFB7ACBD'] [1:'0xFFFFD3F7']
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown5 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 00 00 00 00 80 3E 00 00 | .....>..
    ---
    --- UnknownClassList: Unknown6 (0x4) ---
    --- Unknown6[0] ---
    Unknown1: 0x0801
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown2 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 00 00 | ................
    ---
    --- IndexList`1: IndexList (0x1) ---
    [0]: 0x01
    ---
    --- Unknown6[1] ---
    Unknown1: 0x1F02
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown2 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 00 00 | ................
    ---
    --- IndexList`1: IndexList (0x1) ---
    [0]: 0x02
    ---
    --- Unknown6[2] ---
    Unknown1: 0x1F03
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown2 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 00 00 | ................
    ---
    --- IndexList`1: IndexList (0x1) ---
    [0]: 0x03
    ---
    --- Unknown6[3] ---
    Unknown1: 0x0800
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown2 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 00 00 | ................
    ---
    --- IndexList`1: IndexList (0x1) ---
    [0]: 0x04
    ---
    ---
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown7 ---

    | 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 | 02 00 00 05 06 00 07 00 00 08 | ..........
    ---
    --- TGIBlockList: tgiList (0x9) ---
    [0]: 0x00000000-0x00000000-0x0000000000000000
    [1]: 0x015A1849-0x0035B79F-0x1073DF7E69149F3E
    [2]: 0x015A1849-0x0035B79C-0x1073DF7E69149F3E
    [3]: 0x015A1849-0x0035B79D-0x1073DF7E69149F3E
    [4]: 0x015A1849-0x0035B79E-0x1073DF7E69149F3E
    [5]: 0x3453CF95-0x00000000-0x6371BB05655A0D9C
    [6]: 0x3453CF95-0x00000000-0x6371BB05655A0D9D
    [7]: 0xAC16FBEC-0x00000000-0x1073DF7E69149F3E
    [8]: 0xBA856C78-0x00000000-0x6371BB05655A0D9E
    Post edited by zosiah on
  • MyreMylarMyreMylar Posts: 80 Member
    Just wanted to say that the second method described above fixed the swatch hover bug on my aviators recolour.

    Good work!
  • granthesgranthes Posts: 93 Member
    zosiah wrote: »
    *I have never done this* but i really want to make my own CC.<br />
    <br />
    First, I DOWNLOADED S4pe and TS4CASRecolor Tool (the updated version)<br />
    <br />
    and of course, there is a problem. i'm so frustrated! :(<br />
    it says this, and under TAG it says "UNKN": <br />
    <br />
    Version: 0x0000001A<br />
    TGIoffset: 0x0000012F<br />
    PresetCount: 0x00000000<br />
    Name: Sophie_yfTop_TShirtLong_StripeGrayPink<br />
    SortPriority: 245.0000<br />
    --- DataBlobHandler: Unknown1 ---<br />
    ...
    ...
    ...
    [4]: 0x015A1849-0x0035B79E-0x1073DF7E69149F3E<br />
    [5]: 0x3453CF95-0x00000000-0x6371BB05655A0D9C<br />
    [6]: 0x3453CF95-0x00000000-0x6371BB05655A0D9D<br />
    [7]: 0xAC16FBEC-0x00000000-0x1073DF7E69149F3E<br />
    [8]: 0xBA856C78-0x00000000-0x6371BB05655A0D9E

    @zosiah,

    this is just the contents of the CASP resource. There should also be 3 or 4 other items in the package created by Color Magic. Three of them will be UNKN and one (may be missing) will be _IMG.

    If you click on the UNKN lines one at a time s4pe should preview the texture for you in the right hand side. When you find the one that is the main texture (lots of color / looks like the item :smile: ) then you can right click on that line and choose to export to dds.

    Use photoshop or gimp to edit that file you exported, then re-import it into the package using import from dds.

    --Grant
    Grant (granthes)
    Developer of Sims 4 Modding Tools -- Sims 4 Stuff n Things
  • granthesgranthes Posts: 93 Member
    Whoops... Instance field :) SOrry about that! Editing...

    Still getting the error? :( No idea why Grant doesn't get it ;) Maybe make a bug report to Kuree (S4PE developer) at Simlogical, so he can fix that.

    Edit: Oh, Grant compiled his own copy, and fixed it himself ;)

    I'll have to try some more after I go to sleep, now none of my newer made stuff is showing up, just the three shirts I made a few days ago.

    @simfeetunder, be sure that the Color Magic version you are using is 0.1.4, there was a major goof on my part in 0.1.3 that didn't actually make a recolor package.
    Grant (granthes)
    Developer of Sims 4 Modding Tools -- Sims 4 Stuff n Things
  • zosiahzosiah Posts: 13 New Member
    edited August 2014
    Alright, I figured that out haha. But now I have another problem. The texture image won't come up on the side for any of them.. and I don't have an option to export DDS. I need to export into photoshop, right?
  • granthesgranthes Posts: 93 Member
    zosiah wrote: »
    Alright, I figured that out haha. But now I have another problem. The texture image won't come up on the side for any of them..

    Some people have had that problem with S4PE. It seems that when SimKuree packed it up to get it ready for download he used the 7-zip program. The zip file that s4pe comes in doesn't unpack properly with the windows extract from zip process.

    If you get the s4pe zip file and use 7-zip to un-pack it, the extras like the dds viewer get installed correctly.
    Grant (granthes)
    Developer of Sims 4 Modding Tools -- Sims 4 Stuff n Things
  • zosiahzosiah Posts: 13 New Member
    I followed all the instructions on multiple guides and i'm still having problems, unless i'm doing something wrong that i obviously dont nkow about.. should i uninstall and reinstall everything?
  • granthesgranthes Posts: 93 Member
    zosiah wrote: »
    I followed all the instructions on multiple guides and i'm still having problems, unless i'm doing something wrong that i obviously dont nkow about.. should i uninstall and reinstall everything?

    I suspect from the issues you are seeing that you may have a broken S4PE. Also be sure that you have Color Magic 0.1.4, since earlier versions have various bugs.

    So.... Yes. At this point, I would recommend deleting both S4PE and Color Magic and re-download and install them. Use 7-zip to unpack S4PE since it doesn't seem to like windows zip.

    At that point you should be good to go. If not, feel free to jump over to the Sims 4 Stuff N Things forums and I can help you out there.
    Grant (granthes)
    Developer of Sims 4 Modding Tools -- Sims 4 Stuff n Things
  • zosiahzosiah Posts: 13 New Member
    FINALLY! the texture showed up. thank you :) i'm sure i'll be coming back later for help :P
  • zosiahzosiah Posts: 13 New Member
    edited August 2014
    .
    Post edited by zosiah on
  • LaudeLaude Posts: 640 Member
    Thank you for the new version. ;)
  • MgTMaGGoTMgTMaGGoT Posts: 6 New Member
    edited August 2014
    I made one t-shirt yesterday and tried to do some more, the first t-shirt worked just fine, all the other stuff crashes the sims 4 CAS demo, been trying the "fix" but it doesn't work for me.

    *Edit*
    I just renamed the packagefile entirely, instead of just having a "fixed" pre-fix, that seemed to work.
  • Srikandi715Srikandi715 Posts: 1,753 Member
    edited August 2014
    zosiah wrote: »
    I downloaded the DDS plugin for photoshop, and when i open up my dds file, photoshop says "could not complete your request because it is not the right kind of document."

    Edit: whoops, didn't read carefully. Sounds like the DDS plugin is not correctly installed.
  • PenelopePenelope Posts: 3,287 Member
    Hiya. I just tried these fixes. I was able to follow them accurately, but my shirt still crashes the demo. :( I'll try again.
  • MyreMylarMyreMylar Posts: 80 Member
    Everyone make sure you close s4pe before loading the CAS! The CAS demo will crash if you have a package in your mod directory open in s4pe. It's easy to think you have a bug (because the process is still a little fiddly) when actually you just haven't closed s4pe.
  • QuelsimmyQuelsimmy Posts: 531 Member
    edited August 2014
    Thanks a lot!

    Edit: Tried the fix but it doesn't work, s4pe gives an error sadly enough
  • MyreMylarMyreMylar Posts: 80 Member
    Make sure you try the second fix listed as well. SRIKANDI715's post has a longer explanation. If it still doesn't work post up the error you get.
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top