Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

How do you build a house?

I am a very bad builder but I want to become good builder but I always make my house boxy and too big so there is loads of space! Can you please tell me how you build houses so I can try your technique also is it wierd to go through ideal home and real home magazines to get ideas?
xyIcMqt.png

Comments

• Options
    whitneyngwhitneyng Posts: 574 Member
    No its not weird to go through magazines. I sometimes search Google for nice homes. Just to get inspiration or ideas then improvise the homes and architecture I see to my own liking.
  • Options
    bklienhartbklienhart Posts: 2,975 Member
    Yeah, looking at real house plans is the way to do it if you want to build a better fake house.
  • Options
    HunterInShadowHunterInShadow Posts: 302 Member
    edited March 2015
    As has already been said, getting inspiration and building tips from sources outside the game is perfectly fine. You might want to google around for Sims 3 house building videos and building tutorials as well. And of course, the important thing is to spend time building in-game, practicing and learning how to build and finding the most comfortable way to build things for yourself. If you find it tough to start from scratch, Build Mode also has ready-made blueprints (look for a caliper/compass in build mode and click on it) you can just drop onto your empty lot and play around with.