Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Sims freezes

Hi everyone!

I started playing the Sims 3 again the last week. I spent a lot of time building a home for 2 of my Sims. As long as I was building, the game didn't freeze. But now I want to play with my sims, they seem to freeze like every 30 seconds.

Does anyone know why this might happen?

Comments

• Options
    igazorigazor Posts: 19,330 Member
    There are a lot of reasons why this can happen ranging from poorly made worlds (which world are you playing in?), or one that is over-populated, a computer unable to handle the game or all of the EPs you are playing, or issues on the home lot.

If you start a new test game apart from this one in a world known to be pretty much free of severe routing issues, such as Sunset Valley, Riverview, or Twinbrook, and just grab some pre-made sims to play for a short while without all of the building, does the game behave better?

Does it help at all if you clear the five cache files in your TS3 user game folder in Documents before starting up the game?

If you get the same lag and freezes in a usually safe to play world, we would want to know more about the specs of the computer you are playing on and how many/which EPs you have in play.
    https://help.ea.com/en-au/help/pc/how-to-gather-dxdiag-information

I would also suggest checking this lot you've created for them with the buydebug cheat on. An extreme overabundance of usually not visible things like spawners, sometimes totally not intentional, will kill performance on just about any lot.

o550pjoa47rpxo63g.jpg
    NRaas has moved!
    Our new site is at http://nraas.net
  • Options
    XxIesjuhXxIesjuh Posts: 78 Member
    @igazor Thank you for the help! I don't have to time to open the game right now, but I will keep you updated
  • Options
    XxIesjuhXxIesjuh Posts: 78 Member