Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Build Mode: Basements After Terrain Tools ?

How do you add a basement on to a previous built house with a raised foundation, without getting terrain outcropping?

When I try to add on a basement, following the footprint of the building above, the terrain bulges out. This leaves an unsightly look to the foundation as well as disrupts the landscaping. It works Ok when the level of the building and the terrain are the same.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a solution?

(Bear with me. I'm a noob when it comes to screenshots and attachements)

I tried to attaché an image but wasn't sucessful.

Comments

• Options
    JC1979JC1979 Posts: 491 Member
    Did you add the basement after raising the terrain? If so maybe flatten the terrain to its original position and then re-add the basement. So far I’ve only built above ground basements, which afterwards I would raise the terrain to make my builds look like they are atop a hill.
  • Options
    simm621simm621 Posts: 1,037 Member
    Try lowering the foundation then put in the basement. You should then be able to raise the foundation back up and there should be no bulges.
    Gallery ID: wiccanwonder
  • Options
    SweetieWright_84SweetieWright_84 Posts: 4,129 Member
    You could drag the basement down a bit. You do that the same way you raise/lower the foundation.
    Gallery ID: SweetieWright_84--Save File Thread--Youtube Channel
  • Options
    mebagl15mebagl15 Posts: 563 Member
    37fz4mw.png

This is what I'm refering to in the original post.
  • Options
    ShadyLady_DQShadyLady_DQ Posts: 476 Member
    Try staring with the basement tool on an open area of terrain that is the level at which you want the basement. Then drag the basement under the house. It should add the “filler” level when you place the stairs like when building basements under house foundations before terrain tools. Hopes this helps!
  • Options
    eFbpcIi.png?1