The latest update for The Sims 4 is now live. Click here to read the latest notes.
Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Is this really the direction we are going?

SchantalSchantal Posts: 3,082 Member
edited November 2017 in Off Topic Chat
****ALL opinions welcome, just be nice please so the thread isn't closed. Which do you guys like more? The more reslitic way, cartoony, or somewhere inbetween? I think I like inbetween.

ETA: One of my fav Will Wright quotes, which you can find in the interview linked below is this "I'm a games designer, I don't want to be a storyteller. I want to be a story-enabler. I think that the stories that the players create or tell are so much more interesting. I like the idea of games as a form of creative expression from the player's point of view. So the player feels very excited in investing themselves into creativity."
I love this because he wanted THE PLAYER to have control to tell stories, not take control away. I feel like Sims 4 is more about how the PRODUCERS think we should play......

So, I have played The Sims since the very first game roughly 18 years ago. It's always been one of the most amazing games I have ever played. The reason the game was so successful was because Will Wright, the creator, was a freaking visionary. So, recently I was thinking about how the community is divided into the people who want a more realistic game (still funny and silly, but realistic) the way the original creator intended it and the cartoony game we have come to know today.