Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

TS4 Late Adopter - First Impressions

I am new to The Sims 4, having only come on board with the recent free base-game giveaway from EA.

Let the it stand for the record, and whatever Marketing types want to know, that in my case at least, it worked.

That is, I am playing, enjoying, and buying content.

I am a late adopter by design. In the case of The Sims, I had a lot invested in TS3, in terms of expansions, stuff packs, mods and, most compelling to me, builds and active households. When TS4 launched, I was not remotely ready to move on.

I also like to leave significant time after a new game's release to allow the worst bugs and omissions to be remedied before I dive in. Or, as my more cynical side expresses it, "I don't pay to Beta-test".

In both regards, the offer of a free TS4 base game were well-timed: In TS3 I had finally hit a wall where my play was becoming repetitive and less engrossing, and all my CC and mods - not to mention the age and size of my households - was really slowing things down. I was ready for the change. In TS4, there were now several years' worth of content updates, including careers my Sims have enjoyed, plus numerous packs already available to choose among, to add those play features I feel my own game most needs.

Immediately, although feeling a bit lost in topsy-turvy land as I sussed out the differences from TS3, I was charmed. There were elements of play that added depth and made me more concerned with how precisely my Sim used his leisure. Career-related responsibilities reminded me, in a good way, of some of the structure I had enjoyed in The Sims Medieval (although I do wish they varied a bit, day to day. My Culinary Sims produce more food that we can possibly eat, etc).