Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

New Laptop, Game Settings Question

Hello fellow simmers,

I finally have a gaming laptop!!!! I'm so happy because I could finally enjoy my game with the proper graphics. Anywho. I am new to this and don't know what my settings should be like. On my old laptop, everything was on low.

My new specs are:
Intel® Core™ i7-6700HQ (2.6 GHz, up to 3.5 GHz, 6 MB cache, 4 cores) + NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 965M (4GB GDDR5 dedicated)
•15.6" diagonal FHD IPS UWVA anti-glare WLED-backlit (1920 x 1080)
•8GB DDR4-2133 SDRAM (1 x 8GB)
•1TB 7200 rpm SATA+ 128GB M.2 SSD

With that said, what are the recommended settings should be for: the refresh rate, vertical sync, edge smoothing, 3D scene resolution, uncompressed Sim texture, post processing effects and laptop mode?

Also, I found the thread where you could put Sims 4 on the dedicated card, but I saw there was something where you could change the fps rate in Nvidia control panel. Should I change that?

*I'm not here asking for any laptop recommendations or which brand is better or which specs I should have gotten or so. I'm content with my laptop and don't plan on changing.*

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Colton147147Colton147147 Posts: 10,454 Member
    You are able to play with the highest settings, but make sure to enable V-Sync. :)

@phoebebebe13 may be able to explain how to enable V-Sync via NVidia's control panel.
    Your Justine Keaton Enthusiast and the Voice of the Sims Community.
  • Options
    IceDrizzle27IceDrizzle27 Posts: 648 Member
    @Colton147147 may I ask what is vsync and it's benefits to the game?
  • Options
    phoebebebe13phoebebebe13 Posts: 19,400 Member
    edited December 2016
    Your fps should sync with your monitor. It prevents screen tearing and your video card working too hard and overheating.