Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Help With Sims 3 Performance Please

Hello fellow simmers!

First off I want to let ya'll know that I do play the Sims 3 on a laptop, which I know is probably not the best for The Sims (especially since it's not a gaming laptop). I first played The Sims 3 around 2009-2011 on a Toshiba laptop that ran Windows 7 at the time and the game ran smoothly, despite some lag with added expansion; I unfortunately don't remember the specifics of the model :(

I now have an Hp Notebook (64-bit OS), and the game is very laggy; levels of detail are missing in the graphics when I'm not zoomed all the way in; when it snows, the ground is just white - it doesn't even look like snow, lol.

Processor for my Hp Notebook: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-5005U CPU @2.00GHz
Installed RAM: 8.00 GB

So, what kind of changes should I make in-game for The Sims 3? And what can I do outside of the game (other than modding) that would help?
I'm very new to how computers run software and all of that, so tips would be greatly appreciated as well.

Thank you for reading!

~Koolkat

Comments

• Options
    Chi5678Chi5678 Posts: 268 Member
    Is the computer new or do you have a lot of stuff on it other than sims? I'm asking because my game used to lag so bad I couldn't even use "ultra speed" without it simply freezing and when i would unpause it would freeze about a minute and Isla Paradiso is entirely unplayable but my computer gave out the other day and I took it into the computer repair shop and they backed up my entire computer and then did a hard reset and wiped it clean then redownloaded windows and I reinstalled all my sims games and now it runs SO SMOOTH with literally no freezing and very very minimal lag, I was shocked
    hLhdCsO.jpg
  • Options
    Chi5678Chi5678 Posts: 268 Member
    I play with over a hundred mods and cc and those were all saved in the back up thankfully but its so smooth now
    hLhdCsO.jpg
  • Options