Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Getting Started on YouTube

I have been thinking for some time of starting my own YouTube channel to discuss sim related matters. I would appreciate some help in finding a suitable capture/edit app to use. I need to be able to insert slides into the video and obviously want to capture sound, both in real time and dubbed on afterwards.

Any suggestions gratefully received. I don't mind paying for the app but as I am a novice I do not want a really expensive outlay at this time.

Many thanks.

Betty
I no longer use Origin or My Page. You can find me on YouTube or Twitter as Bettyboop711000. You are welcome to contact me as I explore options for a PC sandbox life simulation game.
Wherever I am friends call me Betty

Sim enim est vita

Comments

• Options
    ZeeGeeZeeGee Posts: 5,356 Member
    @Bettyboop55 I recommend OBS for screen capture and game recording, and Davinci Resolve for editing. Both are free, but work much better than apps I actually purchased.

Davinci Resolve is an intense editor with some awesome features but as of version 16 there is a cut page, which is very simple if you don’t have editing experience. Davinci Resolve has a paid version for professionals that has a few extra features that you’ll probably never need unless you’re a professional filmmaker. 😊

Look forward to seeing another Sims 3 channel on YouTube!
  • Options
    Bettyboop55Bettyboop55 Posts: 2,646 Member
    @ZeeGee thank you so much. I had heard of OBS but not Davinci. It looks as though the free version will suit me nicely :)

I am thinking more of the future of the franchise for my channel rather than TS3 alone. Besides I do not have the skill to produce the lovely videos you make <3
    I no longer use Origin or My Page. You can find me on YouTube or Twitter as Bettyboop711000. You are welcome to contact me as I explore options for a PC sandbox life simulation game.

Sim enim est vita
  • Options