Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Q&A with Alleged Lead AI Programmer for Sims 4

simmeroriginsimmerorigin Posts: 1,401 Member
Full comment by user @ rezination replying to this YouTube video "The Genius AI Behind The Sims"
I was an AI programmer on The Sims Medieval (which was based on The Sims 3) and the lead AI programmer on The Sims 4. This is pretty spot-on! There's more to it of course, but the core of the AI system is just as described here.

Things like visiting other sims were called Situations which helped define some of those rules. They weren't hard-coded, we managed it all with buffs, mostly created by designers. Buffs can be thought of as tags and you could have tests on interactions that said "don't allow someone with this buff to do this thing". So if you visited another sim, you got a visiting buff which prevented you from doing things that were inappropriate. You could also be invited to stay over, which was a different buff that relaxed many of those rules. Beds were a special case; they were owned by different sims so you would never autonomously use someone else's bed unless you were very close (like romantically involved).