Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

What's causing my game to crash?

A few days ago I started playing Sims 3 again after playing Sims 4 for a while, and now I'm having an issue with my game crashing constantly. It happens a lot in CAS but it happens in-game too. According to my most recent xcpt files, the cause isn't DEP (Data Execution Prevention) forcing the game to close, but it's something else and I have no idea what it is. Here's the exception info copied from the most recent xcpt file.

[Exception info]
date: 2017-09-12
time: 11.54.57
type: ACCESS_VIOLATION reading address 0x00000008
address: 0x004fe0f7 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\The Sims 3\Game\Bin\TS3W.exe":0x0001:0x000fd0f7
mj4do4.gif

Comments

• Options
    igazorigazor Posts: 19,330 Member
    edited September 2017
    Just a shot in the dark, but by any chance do you have TS3 installed by way of disc/Origin and Steam at the same time? That can cause no end of corruption to the user game folder in Documents, including the saved games.

Crash logs are almost useless. The only thing they usually tell us is that the game crashed. That's all that the RAM (memory) address "violation" means. DEP has not been an issue for TS3 since patch 1.50something and Steam would have you on Patch 1.67 with no choices given.

Without yet getting into what kind of hardware you are running on, if the game worked properly before but doesn't now, I would suspect CC or some kind of content failure. If you haven't added anything recently, or even if you have, clear (delete) your five user game folder cache files if you don't already do this on a routine basis. Just the five that appear on the top level under TS3, nothing deeper.