Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

The Art of Sims Storytelling

Comments

• RipuAncestorRipuAncestor Posts: 2,332 Member
    edited January 2023
    Ooh, these are fun questions, and I love how varied the answers are! Shows how diverse our writing styles are!
    What do you think defines your personal storytelling style? What aspects of your work do you consider your personal 'trademarks' as a storyteller? (Can be in terms of writing style, characters, screenshots / style of screenshots, common tropes or themes that appear and whatever else comes to mind.)
    Genre: usually low fantasy or urban fantasy.

Common themes: identity, death and grief and growing through that, non-human creatures discovering and inspecting humanity and the world, some meandering thoughts about the universe or something.

Other stuff: I find it easier to write characters than plot, so the stories have a big focus on characters and their development. I'm a very wordy writer. I like to play with words and descriptions. I usually don't write romance as a focus, but instead focus more on platonic and familial relationships. Also there will be lots of tea and fawning over pretty landscapes and nature imagery.

Character archetypes: non-human humanoids, like spirits, anthropomorphic personifications, fairies etc.; lovable rogues; shy characters; snarky characters; smart characters who get into situations they aren't prepared for.

_sims_Yimi wrote: »
    Oh, hey. That is a question. What is the most fun, well-made or memorable character you've ever written?
    It has to be Thanatos Dustpine a.k.a Tad, but I am very pleased with how the main four of The Chrysanthemum Tango (Amelia Sprigg, Tad, Vanja Leifsdóttir and Novak Sanguine) work in general. I'm very fond of them all.

@rednenemon Sagebear is the best :heart:

Post edited by RipuAncestor on
    doublebannerpic.jpg?w=676
    My Sims stories: