Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

The Art of Sims Storytelling

Comments

• Options
    Kellogg_J_KelloggKellogg_J_Kellogg Posts: 1,552 Member
    Although I'm having fun writing out chapters for my royal story, I also like having a game-driven story in Magical Mastersons. Sometimes completely crazy stuff happens that you just cannot plan for, and trying to work it into your story is fun! You'd think a birthday party would be relatively simple - just invite over some friends, bake a cake, blow out the candles... right... ?

Also... how do you work out screenshots? What I mean is, how do you decided where to put them in your chapters? Although I'm still pretty new to using Pose Player, for example, it's all been pretty straightforward so far. I'm not very experienced at photo editing; all I can really do is make a screenshot black-and-white or sepia-toned. I can't edit in special effects or whatever. So far I have one chapter which is entirely screenshot-based, and it's relatively straightforward to write out a list of screenshots/poses I want to use and arrange them in chronological order.

My story, Sim 66, has evolved over time. At first it was entirely gameplay driven and I would write up the events of the day into prose form. After about a dozen chapters I started to combine gameplay with things I scripted in advance. Right now the method of plotting Sim 66 is to take one of the regular featured characters, look at what happened to them in previous chapters, work out where I roughly want them to be by the end of the chapter and play out the game noting all the incidents that happen along the way before writing it all up.