Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

How do I install mods without getting a virus?

Gecko420Gecko420 Posts: 245 Member
Seriously, viruses are everywhere. Or the mods pop up with something unnecessary, like an anti virus thing. I'm a total noob at mods.
t0j4i8.jpg

Comments

• luthienrisingluthienrising Posts: 37,628 Member
    Mod the Sims is a safe download site. Start there.
    EA CREATOR NETWORK MEMBER — Want to be notified of patches, new Broken Mods threads, and urgent Sims 4 news? Follow me at https://www.patreon.com/luthienrising.
  • Zeldaboy180Zeldaboy180 Posts: 5,997 Member
    Mod the sims is incredibly safe as the one above me said, it's my favorite. Everything there has to be strictly pre screened before it's allowed to be uploaded. Not to mention it's all user feedback ran.
    e68338c368f106ae784e73111955bd86.png
  • sunshineandsimoleonssunshineandsimoleons Posts: 8,413 Member
    Gecko420 wrote: »
    Seriously, viruses are everywhere. Or the mods pop up with something unnecessary, like an anti virus thing. I'm a total noob at mods.

I've been modding my games for close to 10 years and have yet to come across a virus attached to cc or a mod. If something unnecessary pops up, close it and check your pop up blocker.

And don't download from sketchy sites, like ones in a bunch of random languages or with ads all over the page. Stick with well known ones.
    WLfAA9V.png
  • LatteCrabLatteCrab Posts: 2,935 Member
    Also make sure your PC has really good Security software and scans everything you download. :)
  • KatryinKatryin Posts: 125 Member
    I'd recommend installing Adblock Plus.
  • stilljustme2stilljustme2 Posts: 25,082 Member
    I echo what folks have said here:

1. Go with well known sites; if you're not sure about a site, ask here or in the Mods forum
    2. Good antivirus software is a must; set it for Real-Time Scanning
    3. If something weird pops up, close the game and delete the mod

And don't forget to