Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

TS4 Discovering University CONFIRMED Coming on November 15th!

Comments

• emorrillemorrill Posts: 8,110 Member
    Meh. I'm just waiting for them to announce the release of Sims 5...
    CAF84 wrote: »

I doubt we’ll get a school pack now, which is a shame, as we’ve never had one before. I suppose university is just a lot more in demand than a school based one due to the average age of the fan base. I started playing the Sims when it first came out when I was 15. I’ve bought every new base game and almost every pack they released in the past 20 years, but I do feel that older (and by older, I mean not teenaged or early twenties) fans are being left behind a little by this game, which is a shame, as we have shown the most customer loyalty over the years. The gameplay is just too limited to the young adult stage. Ugh, rant over.
    ^THIS!
    Thetford wrote: »

You have to remember, there was very little focus on the academic side of things in TS2 and TS3 University packs (TS2 even had no actual university buildings, let alone any meaningful university interaction), and both had a bare minimum of what you needed to do to pass (just go to class for a couple of hours and write a report) - that was it. The main focus in both games was the campus life itself: dorms, greek houses, toga parties, secret societies, coffee shops, the quad - stuff that you would find in any college movie, the university itself isn't important.

In contrast, schools have significantly higher contact hours, and everything is much more structured and very little would be in your sim's control. Otherwise it would cease to be a school. When you compare a show or film set in a school, very little focus is placed on the classroom side of things, but rather the hallway corridors, prom, or out of school activities, something which is much less easy to form a pack around.
    ^True and good point. :)