Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

How to edit sim data files without S4S?

Hello,
I'm a newbie to modding and also a little dumb (not sure which issue is getting in my way more) but I want to make a custom trait anyway. I thought that the best way to learn would be to clone a trait in game and then tweak it a lot and see what happens.

So, I thought I would extract a trait and replace the instance ID's with ID's that I generate using Zerbu's mod creator. That should work to clone a trait, right?

Anyway, when I was playing with Zerbu's mod creator, I noticed that if I loaded a trait package into Sims 4 Studio, the trait would no longer appear in game. I'm not sure why. I assume a bug with S4S of some kind.

BUT, I don't know any other way to edit data files except for with S4S, and I'm pretty sure that I need to make simdata files match the xml file instance ID, so I can't go about my cloning experimentations.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• IngeJonesIngeJones Posts: 3,247 Member
    edited August 2017
    You have reported/asked about this problem at the S4S forum, haven't you? You definitely need to do that first.
  • zombiesuezombiesue Posts: 148 Member
    IngeJones wrote: »
    You have reported/asked about this problem at the S4S forum, haven't you? You definitely need to do that first.

Hello, IngeJones. Thanks for the reminder. I could have sworn that I read that someone else already made a thread about it, but I can't find it now, so I must be thinking of something else. I will do exactly that.
  • DarkWalkerDarkWalker Posts: 64 Member
    I believe S4PE can edit data files inside packages, though the UI isn't nearly as user-friendly as that of S4S.

Also, DataFileTools by Velocitygrass can edit extracted data files.