Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Sims 4 taking up all my memory

idk if i'm posting this in the right place or if its been asked before, but i've been playing the sims 4 on my macbook air for 2 years now and recently my macbook has been completely full. the only app really taking up a lot of space is sims, so my only option besides getting a new computer is somehow getting rid of it. I'm going to college in a week so all i have is this laptop and i don't have much money and i need space on it. i have a lot of cc but not a crazy amount and i have parenthood, get together, the city expansion pack (lmao sorry forgot the name), vampires, and a couple stuff packs installed. i also have an insane amount of saves because i can't just stick to one game lmao. whats the best way to save memory? i don't have a lot of money but i know i have some old 8gb flash drives lying around my house from years ago, and i would be willing to spend maybe $25, $50 at the most on an external hard drive that could store the sims and run it well. also, would deleting saves give me back a lot of memory?
family tree (legacy family)
origin id: clareo74

Comments

• giallorossigiallorossi Posts: 167 Member
    Well, how much space does Sims 4 take your hard drive? How big is your hard drive? And how much space is left on it? It's hard to tell how to help before we know all that.
  • SimplyJenSimplyJen Posts: 14,828 Member
    edited August 2017
    Gaming on an external drive is not recommended. They are intended for storage purposes only, not games. The game will suffer because it's constantly transferring data back and forth which even the best top of the line external drives are not suited for. However, since you have a Mac this discussion would be better in the Mac section. Here: http://forums.thesims.com/en_US/categories/the-sims-4-on-mac-discussions
    I'll also tag @BluebellFlora @Tremayne4260