Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Noob question re: EIG

Okay, bear with me here, because like I said I'm a noob at CAW :oops:

1. I have created my small world.

2. I exported a copy of said new world to my game and pre-made about a dozen community lots and just a couple of homes, and saved them in my Library.

3. Went back to CAW (after closing out of game), opened world and ran EIG. Screen goes black with circle going round and round for about 5 minutes - then crashes.

Tried this about half a dozen times with the same result.

Not being completely computer illiterate, I decided to run a vanilla version of Sims3. Did step 3 above and voila, this time the world opened in EIG! But of course the contents of my library and store were not there (NB. I knew that would happen but just wanted to see if I could get the world to run in EIG first).

So, this is where it gets a little more difficult... :roll:

I put my DCCache files and my Library files back into the vanilla version of the game, open CAW, click EIG and this time, I get as far as the green bar loading the world, when BOOM! It crashes again!

So now I'm wondering if my DCCache file is too large?? My library contents are definitely not large - only a couple of MB.. but the DCCache is 3.15GB (I own the entire Sims3 Store :oops: ).

Now I realise that shouldn't be too large for my computer to handle but honestly, I'm completely baffled as to why it keeps crashing. I should be able to keep my store content in the game right? I mean I know other world builders don't just work with base game / EP / SP stuff but also use Store content.. so what am I doing wrong here :? ??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :D - especially if it helps me to avoid loading an empty world to the Exchange or having to rebuild all those lots in EIG! :)

PS. Forgot to mention - I have no CC or Mods.

Comments

• Faith_AndhopeFaith_Andhope Posts: 4,468 Member
    edited October 2012