Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Icon but no launcher! - MAC

Wondering if anyone can help me. Yesterday I bought my very first mac so I'm a newbie! So anyway I installed my sims fine and everything but when I download from the exchange, my launcher won't open but the icon is there. Does anyone know how I can fix this? Like I said I'm new to macs! Thank you!!!

Also - The icon is freezing and I can't quit it, so I cannot turn the computer off, other than using a force quit.

Comments

• lilyb17lilyb17 Posts: 1
    edited May 2012
    I have a similar problem! i just installed sims 3 on my macbook pro and now when i click to open it, the icon just bounces on my dock then disappears. Anyone know how to fix this??
  • EmilyLouisexoEmilyLouisexo Posts: 33 Member
    edited May 2012
    Anyone? :(
  • edited May 2012
    I've never had this problem, but I use to not be able to download from the exchange.
    Try forcequitting the launcher if it doesn't respond within 5 minutes, then restart your computer. If it still isn't working, go to you finder, then documents, electronic arts, the sims 3 and check for a file with the word launcher in it. If it isn't there, then you have a problem! Sometimes sims just acts up, You could try re-installing if all hope in humanity has disappeared. :!:
  • cutie9676cutie9676 Posts: 135 New Member
    edited May 2012
    It's the cc i'm not against cc but from the exchage is like playing with a gun. Try this http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/234888.page and this link too this is what i use when i have this problem http://sims3.crinrict.com/en/2011/01/tutorial-how-to-get-rid-of-unwanted-custom-content.html go down to the section where they talk about your DCCache folder. Or just follow this:
    *not mines
    First you can try this method by Mell

Make a backup of your DCCache folder (if anything doesn’t go as expected)
    Move all files *.dbc to your desktop