Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Salvaging items from junk yard

(I'm new to ambitions) I went to the junkyard and salvaged a few items. I found them in my inventory and placed them in my house. The only option I get when I click the item is 'replace for XX simoleons.' Is there a way to restore the item and not pay the same price as a new one? Or whats the point of salvaging items when you can just buy a new one from Buy mode? Thanks for any help

Comments

• simsluvinsimsluvin Posts: 64
    edited June 2010
    If you salvage items, then put them some where (I use my side yard, lol) and then call the repair man (through services) he comes, stands around, then in a few hours he leaves, says I'm all done, takes his $50.0 and all the items are repaired. 50 is a small price to pay when I can pull 5k or more from just about every trip, lol.

On a side note, do you have problems picking some items up from the junkyard? Like your sims freaks out as if there is no way to get to it, even though she/he is standing right next to the item?
  • SweetCatastropheSweetCatastrophe Posts: 207 New Member
    edited June 2010
    I haven't had that problem yet..but I've only gone about 3 times because i dont know what to do with the junk that couldn't be used...ill try the repair technician..thanks!
  • savethetigers7121savethetigers7121 Posts: 2,057 Member
    edited June 2010
    simsluvin wrote:
    If you salvage items, then put them some where (I use my side yard, lol) and then call the repair man (through services) he comes, stands around, then in a few hours he leaves, says I'm all done, takes his $50.0 and all the items are repaired. 50 is a small price to pay when I can pull 5k or more from just about every trip, lol.

On a side note, do you have problems picking some items up from the junkyard? Like your sims freaks out as if there is no way to get to it, even though she/he is standing right next to the item?

i never knew that