Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

What to do on Patch Day when you use mods....

WhubbleWhubble Posts: 62 Member
edited July 2022 in General Mods Discussion
I've been playing the sims since its release in 2000 on a PC. My best practice advice on patch day is to remove your entire sims folder to your computer's desktop and start your game with all new files while it updates. Start a new save and play on it for a bit so you can test it out and see what issues may be present that aren't related to mods and cc. Then follow the updated thread under Mods General in the forums and your feeds to see when modders do their updates. As they release them, add them back in a few at a time and play to see if any have issues. If you find any, visit your modder's suggested site (discord, website, etc.) and let them know. Sometimes for this patch type, modders may wait until after the game pack releases to fully update their mods.

Most of the time CC works ok. But, sometimes changes are made that will cause even CC to stop working right. The last patch broke alpha hairs. This one is bound to break custom tattoos, body hair, acne, and maybe even makeup. I recall the patch where custom windows stopped working correctly, and slotted chairs also stopped working on another patch.