Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Seasons Weather Preferences Missing Buffs

tipsycowplanttipsycowplant Posts: 1,757 Member
I'm working on my first mod (making hidden traits visible and assigning them missing names/descriptions/icons), which is going great! Everything shows up perfectly in-game. But while testing the weather preference hidden traits from Seasons, I noticed the traits didn't seem to do anything. I went digging in the files to look for associated buffs, and it seems like only Loves Rain, Loves Snow, Loves Wind, and Hates Wind have buffs, meaning the rest of the traits do...nothing? Also, the Loves Rain and Loves Snow buffs are hidden (supposedly affect autonomy, but I didn't notice any autonomy changes during my testing), so I don't really count those. I expected all of the traits to have visible mood buffs similar to Loves/Hates Wind.

I'm very new to modding and a bit overwhelmed as I only just figured out the basics, but I'm going to try to make the missing buffs. So far I've found two other traits that seem relevant to the Loves/Hates Wind buffs - loot_Trait_Hidden_Weather_Preference_Love_Wind and loot_Trait_Hidden_Weather_Preference_Hate_Wind. From what I can tell, these remove conflicting weather preference traits and remove the associated buff. Shouldn't they add the associated buff? Am I reading it wrong or looking in the wrong files? Here's what I'm talking about (for loot_Trait_Hidden_Weather_Preference_Hate_Wind):

<V t="buff_removal">
<U n="buff_removal">
<L n="buffs_to_remove">
<T>189205<!--buff_Weather_Preference_Wind_HatesWind--></T>

My next question is, how do I add a buff to a trait? :sweat_smile: I've looked for a tutorial, but everything I found uses Mod Constructor, and I'm trying to learn how to do it in Sims 4 Studio.