Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Is the sims appropriate for kids?

chocolatefrostingchocolatefrosting Posts: 67 Member
edited December 2022 in The Sims Franchise Discussion
Closed discussion
Post edited by chocolatefrosting on

Comments

• DaWaterRatDaWaterRat Posts: 3,351 Member
    How young? How mature? I've known 7 year olds who I think would be able to handle the Sims just fine, and I've known 16 year olds who couldn't handle the more mature aspects (I've known a couple of adults I would say weren't mature enough for The Sims...)

Also in the US, the game is rated T for Teen, not E for Everyone.

That said, I think 8 would be about the earliest I'd tell another parent "yeah, the Sims should be fine for your kid" Kids tend to be much more resilient to "adult themes" than adults give them credit for.
  • Calico45Calico45 Posts: 2,038 Member
    I started playing pretty young, myself, honestly. So young that finding out woohoo was a thing was a major surprise. This only happened well after I actually had the talk with my parents, but I don't consider it is as sectioned off in 4 as in the first game.

You can very easily hit woohoo or try for baby from the romance social menu. In contrast, I genuinely did not think having babies was possible in the original Sims for a very long time. Even if the animation is tame, it could easily provoke a conversation with a younger child.

4's violence is more toned down than in the older games in my opinion. Those slaps were hilarious, but aggressive. (Granted, if they are watching Roadrunner or Tom and Jerry it is nothing in comparison.)

A few darker aspects from the older games are gone, too, like the social bunny or the therapist. I personally never took those to heart and found them funny growing up, but different kids different parents.