Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Has The Sims increased your interest in arcitecture?

I am studying the 'modern movement' at the moment. I always had an interest in architecture which is one reason why I enjoyed the house building as aspect of The Sims but over the years my interest has grown far beyond housing and towards commercial, social, educational, industrial and leisure buildings.

I think that building is one of the most important parts of a Sims game and should allow the players to build in any style that they want. I am always learning something new about housing or other buildings.

Tonight I shall be reading a PDF focusing on Hertfordshire Local Education Authorities post war school building program.

Anyone here from Herts?

Has The Sims increased your interest in buildings?
Simbourne
screenshot_original.jpg

Comments

• texxx78texxx78 Posts: 5,657 Member
    Not mine but def my sister's. She started building in sims and then she became an architect.
  • Chicklet453681Chicklet453681 Posts: 2,431 Member
    No, not increased it, I was always a big builder way back when it was TS1. I bought a book of house floor plans just to copy the houses to the best that I could with the limitations of the game. I'm still waiting for them to allow us to have slanted ceilings for a MCM build or vaulted/cathedral ceilings.
  • CynnaCynna Posts: 2,369 Member
    For me, it was the other way around. I was already interested in architecture. Or, more accurately, interior design and creating efficient floor plans. I've still got old sketchbooks full of elevations and room treatments. The Sims series helped me to see my designs in action. Falling in love with the little Sim people was a happy bonus. I enjoy playing with the Sims most of all. Yet, one of my favorite past times is to download a home and to rehab it while maintaining the builder's original intent for the style of the home.
    I3Ml5Om.jpg
  • TS1299TS1299 Posts: 1,604 Member