Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Never used Mods - Should I take the plunge and start???

Hi all! I’m looking for a bit of advice from experienced mod players.

I’m a long time simmer (since I was in grade school ) and I’ve owned all the versions of the game (Sims 1 - Sims 4) but I have never used Mods before! I’ve always been anxious about them breaking the game and I’m not that tech savvy so I was worried I wouldn’t be able to fix a problem if it occurred. But I’ve seen some really interesting Mods that I think would really improve the game so I’m super tempted. Specifically I want to install “slide of life” - it looks like it will really help make deeper characters, which is a little lacking in the vanilla version.

So, should I take the risk? Any advise to avoid tech issues? Is there anyone else that is anxious about installing Mods and also needs some reassurance that it will all be ok?

Thanks! Xo
Just keep simming

Comments

• DuvelinaDuvelina Posts: 2,619 Member
    I've personally never been afraid of using mods or them breaking my game, so I've used them ever since the first game. I never had any problems with mods breaking the game either. I think it's more a case of going to trustworthy websites, doing your research and making sure different mods don't conflict with each other so everything works as it should. The Sims 4 is a pain to download a lot of mods for though since you need to redownload almost all of them after every single patch. I do it anyway because I don't want to play the game without.

Mods aren't as scary as you might think and Slice of Life is very safe. I've been enjoying it myself for a while now. 😊
  • LumpinouLumpinou Posts: 29 Member
    There are a few rules to follow for a safe experience with mods, but if you do, you don't generally encounter issues :)