Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

What’s the deal with badges and forum reactions?

First off, I’m a forum noob, I only actively checked in mid June this year. So I’m still learning.
Here’s my question:

Whenever I go and check the thread notifications on my profile page, I also see this reaction count for insightfuls, likes and awesomes.

I understand why and how these reactions should be used, although I’m not entirely sure how the mechanics work. They never make any sense on my account.

I’ve received badges for a certain amount of, say, insightfuls or awesomes, even if the count was 5 or 10 below whatever I received this badge for.
I understand getting a badge means I should somehow feel better about myself, although, why do I get a badge for 500 awesomes if I only have 485?
I wasn’t feeling that bad about myself. :p

Even funnier, I’ve noticed some days the count goes drastically down by over 100 within 1 minute. I can literally see it count down.

It’s like it’s telling me: ‘Hey man, you thought you were awesome? Eat this! Fool!’ And down it goes. It’s very comical.

I don’t care if my posts are liked or not, but it’s something I noticed and I’m curious about how these mechanics work and why I’m getting badges for things I obviously don’t deserve?

If it happens because I was misbehaving and someone is having a laugh, then I do get it and I’ll ask no more. ;)

Does anyone else experience this?

Comments

• texxx78texxx78 Posts: 5,657 Member
    I guess someone must have come back to your post and took out the reaction they had put before... this is just a guess.
  • ChazzzyChazzzy Posts: 7,166 Member
    edited July 2020
    I would just like to be able to view who clicks Insightful, Like, or Awesome on posts. I do not like that this information is hidden.
  • CAPTAIN_NXR7CAPTAIN_NXR7 Posts: 4,451 Member
    edited July 2020
    @telmarina wrote: »