Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Patching with CC and Mods

So I use a bunch of CC and a few Mods too and I know updates likely will throw things out of line. But this is my first time updating while using CC and Mods so. I am not 100% sure about something. Do I take my Mod folder out right away until a fix is made or do I boot up the game and see how things are?

Comments

• Options
    LaBlue0314LaBlue0314 Posts: 17,436 Member
    edited June 2020
    Yes, pull your mods folder, and put it somewhere else, I place mine on my desktop. When you start your game, it will create a new mods folder. From what I am reading from others, start a new game save because of crashing issues. They said EA is aware of the issue. Before adding any mods and CC back, they will need to be updated by the creator of those mods and cc.
  • Options
    Merricat94Merricat94 Posts: 46 Member
    LaBlue0314 wrote: »
    Yes, pull your mods folder, and put it somewhere else, I place mine on my desktop. When you start your game, it will create a new mods folder. From what I am reading from others, start a new game save because of crashing issues. They said EA is aware of the issue. Before adding any mods and CC back, they will need to be updated by the creator of those mods and cc.

Thank you, this is super helpful! Updating now! Oh wow, didn't know each piece of cc would need updating, I thought a general fix could be downloaded to sort out most of the damage! Good to know!
  • Options
    KathykinsKathykins Posts: 1,883 Member
    CC will usually not need updates after patches. I doubt you'll have to anyway. Do check for updates to any mods you use, though. Script mods are very prone to breaking after patches and new packs.
  • Options
    PsychoSimXXPsychoSimXX Posts: 4,403 Member
    Kathykins wrote: »