Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Currently working on mod to let dogs climb beds - Any Ideas?

icmnfrshicmnfrsh Posts: 18,789 Member
edited July 2018 in General Mods Discussion
Hi. I haven't found any mods that allow dogs to go on beds, so I decided to dabble a bit in modding. This is my first time modding any game so I still have a lot to learn, but I do have programming experience, so I won't have any problems with syntax.

I messed around with the existing XML files and I've come up with something:
Jm57b13.jpg

Here is the package file for what I have so far:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/u1dcwzwlre5pjeq/icmnfrsh_DogsCanClimbBeds_WIP.package?dl=0

Here's a summary of the changes I made:
  • In the routing.portals.portal_tuning XML, I added a new PortalFlag named "DogBedPortal". I made this separate from the CatSurfacePortal so that dogs can't climb other unintended surfaces, like washing machines and cat condos.
  • In the object_Dog and object_smallDog XML files, I added the DogBedPortal flag in the allowed_portal_flags list for adults and elders.
  • I cloned the portalData_VariableJump_Bed XML files and made them specific to dogs. I put the DogBedPortal flag in the required_flags list.
  • In all of the object_bed XML files, I added the applicable portalData_VariableJump_Bed flag in the portal_data list for testing purposes. I don't have Seasons, Vampires, and MFP, so beds in those packs won't work with what I have. Once I manage to learn the Python code structure, I plan to inject the flag in all the bed XML files for scalability.

Here are some things to note:
1. When big dogs jump on the bed, their hind legs will "land" beyond the edge of the bed, making them appear as if they're floating on air for a short while. I have no idea how to mess with animation files, and I've only done basic rigging in college, so I'm content to let this be.