Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

WIP: 'The Sims' & 'The Sims 2' Neighbourhoods

MorningstarMorningstar Posts: 318 Member
edited March 8 in Nominated Threads
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting in the World Builders forum, since I usually just build worlds for fun/myself. This creation, however, I think deserves to be shared!

Why am I building this?
While many have recreated neighbourhoods from The Sims 1 & 2, I found many were left unfinished, inaccurate, or only included one small section of what the original games offered. I also couldn't find any worlds that combined TS1 and TS2 neighbourhoods. However, as you may know, street names were shared between different neighbourhoods in the two games.

The Process
I began trying to puzzle out how they could fit together. I found/took screenshots of each of the four main neighbourhoods I wanted to work with: TS1's Old Town and Downtown, and TS2's Pleasantview and Downtown. Then I outlined and labelled the lots, colour-coded by type; identified named and unnamed roads (e.g. streets with no addresses/properties facing them); and tried to make them line up. With a little maneuvering, they fit into a "T" shape, with Pleasantview - Downtown (TS1) - Old Town (and Neighborhood 1) across the top and Downtown (TS2) attaching below TS1's.
The T-shape meant I had some extra room, so I started looking at what other neighbourhoods might logically be located in close proximity to the other four. Belladonna Cove and Desiderata Valley seemed the most promising, and I decided on the latter since Belladonna Cove's real estate is more expensive than most neighbourhoods and Desiderata Valley has a better ratio of residential to community lots for the world as a whole. As a bonus, Desiderata Valley has a road coming from a mountain tunnel and Old Town has one leaving it.