Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Let's discuss the new stairs

Comments

• LunarBLunarB Posts: 6 New Member
    This update is HUGE for me. I'm a builder and often find myself extremely frustrated with not being able to use a house design because I can't manipulate the staircase. Doing it with landings is just convoluted and time-consuming.
  • GalacticGalGalacticGal Posts: 28,552 Member
    hyrulerose wrote: »
    Super excited to have new stair options. And I think the fact that an update has been made to stairs is a good indicator that it’s possible for spiral stairs to come in the future.

I don't think so. These new stairs don't require new animations, but spiral stairs (climbing in circles) probably would. And with pets and toddlers, this is obviously a nightmare for the devs.

Not to start a row, but it was done in TS2. Although I don't have pets in my games there, I do have lots of toddlers, and none of them attempt to do the spiral stairs. That's what parents and older siblings are for. Come to think of it, not sure I've seen them attempt any stairs. Regardless, new stair options are a good thing!

Begging to differ, the toddlers in Sims2 couldn't climb stairs at all, nor could they climb onto anything, really. At best, once in a great while if you had one with high (walking) skills, they could escape from their crib. In Sims2, they would crawl or walk to the top of the stairs and just sit there, wailing, until somebody came to get them. This is a brand new thing in Sims4, for which I applaud the devs. That list of things the players gave on the note that became a sticky note, was well looked at and considered as they finished putting the toddlers together. I am very pleased that they listened and implemented much of what was asked for that they could.