Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Selkirk County (WIP)

artenissimmer55artenissimmer55 Posts: 40 Member
edited March 5 in Nominated Threads
Hello, everyone! Yesterday was my first time I actually posted on this forum - I had a few posts on the forum on the Sims 3 website before they got rid of it - and after seeing all of the amazing worlds that others have been making, I decided I should write about my own!

Selkirk County was made out of a desire for me to play Hutterite sims. Hutterites are communal Anabaptists who live on colonies scattered across the Midwest of the United States and the Canadian prairies. As you can probably foresee, the problem with this type of gameplay is that there isn't really a world out there fit for this gameplay. So, I decided to make it myself, since I have had some experience with CAW in the past.

But I am going to be honest here: I didn't exactly build this world from the ground up. I, unfortunately, do not have the patience for that. So I downloaded a CAW form of Riverview, stripped it of everything that made it "Riverview", then molded the world to my liking. Since then, I've made not only a Hutterite colony, called Oak Lake Colony, but also a Native American reservation, some countryside, and a town called Selkirk, to provide it that Midwestern feel.

I'm actually probably around 75% finished with this world. The world has around 100 lots and I'm in the process of finishing up building them and planting trees...lots of trees. You'll see how many in the pictures lol. Around 8 of the houses in my world are not of my own creation, though, as I took them from the game library when I finally got fed up with building houses...I'm not a good builder, you see. Also, all of the houses I built admittedly do not have curtains, because after years of playing I've gotten fed up with having seemingly over 300 types of windows but only 80 types of curtains.