Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Monthly SimLit Short Story Challenge

Comments

• lisabee2lisabee2 Posts: 3,708 Member
    Thanks for organizing this; it sounds like a blast!

Quick question about forum rules: I understand profanity isn't allowed in the forums, but are we also not allowed to post links to story blogs if they have strong language and adult themes? (This question seems like it should have already been answered, but I've spent the better part of an hour digging and can't find it.)

I am not sure about in general for posting links to .. I think it is ok. BUT I am not a forum experts so don't quote me.

However, for the short story challenge, it will be family friendly .. no adult language and no adult themes .. PG 13 .. rated T for teen .. we are forum based and this challenge will be shared in groups with over 18 and under 18. There is no way to control who has access to it.
    SebEwnF.jpg
    LisabeeSims
    New readers can visit here first: In-a-NUTSHELL
    #EAgamechanger
    Screenshots are an integral part of simlit ... they are one of the things that sets SimLit Short Stories apart from other short stories. Quality and composition are important. For me they tell an important part of the story so do work on them. With very few words at your disposal they can fill in gaps that might burn up space. Take character development for instance ... one well done shot can introduce your protagonist and speak volumes to your readers about who they are with the need for only few words. One well thought out shot can bring your entire short story to resolution and conclusion with no words. The shots are your tools ...use them well ... I will be generous this month but there might be months ahead where that will not be the case.

Dark dull shots can be brightened up and sharpened or cropped to bring them to life. Some folks use reshade and it can make for unique eye catching screenies.