Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Gender neutral pronouns mod?

For all the modders out there, i'm begging you, pLEASE make a mod for gender neutral pronouns. All I want is that every 'he' and 'she' in notifications etc is replaced with 'they'. And 'him' and 'her' replaced with 'their' of course. This would improve my enjoyment of the game immensely.

Comments

• diddlochcoojdiddlochcooj Posts: 56 Member
    Alternatively, could someone point me in the general direction of how I could do this myself? I have no experience with modding, only with making cc
  • pboxpbox Posts: 630 Member
    edited June 2015
    You would need to override the strings in your language I believe. I haven't tested this but to me it looks like it should work when you replace stuff like
    {0.SimFirstName} forgot to have a party for{M0.his}{F0.her} birthday. Or maybe no one wanted to come? Either way, it's very sad.

with
    {0.SimFirstName} forgot to have a party for their birthday. Or maybe no one wanted to come? Either way, it's very sad.

The string resource is in Origin Games > The Sims 4 > Data > Strings_ENG_US.package (in a US English install). You can open it with s4pe (select that resource, hit "Grid", then in the window that opens hit the button with the three dots at the top right) and copy + paste the strings you need into a STBL in a new package that you save in /Mods. The keys need to remain the same so it will override the equivalent strings in your game files. Do not edit the stuff in Strings_ENG_US.package directly (even when it seems tempting), that'll be overwritten by the next patch.
    Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4
  • FogityFogity Posts: 122 Member
    Although this thread is three years old, I want to inform anyone stumbling upon this through searches that a mod for this now exists. It is made by me and called Gender Less. It can be downloaded here.
    Played since The Sims 1 and now makes mods for The Sims 4: