Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Writers' Lounge - For All Games!

Comments

• friendsfan367friendsfan367 Posts: 29,362 Member
    Karilan wrote: »
    MadameLee wrote: »
    Can anyone here who has been on a plane explain basically what it's like/what happens from when you get to the airport to when you board the plane? I need this for a chapter. But i have no knowledge of airports having never been to one :lol:

From my experience...it's very stressful!

You generally need to go print off or hand in your tickets, check your luggage in to security and hand them over, then go through security yourself with any bags you're carrying onto the plane. Generally you're allowed one small suitcase (backpack size) and a purse on the plane. Most air ports don't allow water bottles through, and of course no sharp items like nail scissors. Then once you're through the security gates there are usually gift shops where you can buy water again if you need it, and beyond the gift shops are the departure gates with lines and lines of seats for people to wait in. :)

There's a constant buzz of people over PA systems announcing stuff for delays, departures, arrivals, etc.

At the end of your flight you generally just go to baggage claim to get your suitcases back, and then a security check point and you're free!

From my experience that's only if you're flying internationally since back before 9/11 I went to NYC w/ Mom and as far as I remember we didn't need to check with security on the way home (of course I was only about 9 at the time).

True, the security measures are a bit different whether you're flying out of your country or not, and as far as I've heard different countries have different measures.

It also depends on the passport you have. Some passports are weaker than others, and it is also illegal to use a different passport when entering and leaving certain countries if you hold more than one passport: