Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Creating Clothing from Scratch

Modding newbie here. I just wanted to know how I could create clothing from scratch, not just a recolour. For example, like creating a new style of pants that don't yet exist in the CAS demo. I hope someone here knows. Thanks.

Comments

• MyreMylarMyreMylar Posts: 80 Member
    You could probably just about do it right now but my advice would be to wait a little as the tools for meshing are very new and will probably mature and become more reliable in a few weeks. I myself had a go at editing a hat in a simple way, and while it showed up in the CAS it crashed the demo soon afterward.

If you are determined then you'll need this tutorial:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KmmGiBiW55NWevwWOp4MR8Mue9uIHFUikyJxEmu2vn0/edit

for learning about the mesh creating process and figure out how to integrate that with this new tool:

http://forums.thesims.com/en_US/discussion/773665/cas-cloner-demo-0-1-released#latest

which should let you create a new 'slot' for your mesh rather than replacing one of the existing ones.
  • simlover87_87simlover87_87 Posts: 30 Member
    Thanks @MyreMylar for the links. I'm going to download the CAS Cloner demo. I'll see if anything crashes.
    @MyreMylar I downloaded the trial version of Milkshape, but when I go to import the Q mesh as written in the tutorial, Milkshape has a pop up that says I should buy it, so I'm not able to import it. How do I go around this? Also I was trying to use 3d max but there's not really any plugins for it. I only found one at Mod the Sims and it's for a higher version of the program than what I have. What do I do? How did you do it?
  • simmersimsimmersimsimmersimsimmersim Posts: 28 Member