Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

I may have to start using different saves after all...

From the day I started playing TS4 in January 2017, I have only ever played one save. Aside from practical reasons (such as not wanting to renovate or replace the mediocre default public lots every single time), I simply don't find the idea of every family/household living in their own separate universe appealing. I prefer all of them living together in one big universe that I've been shaping over the course of those past years, with every world from Willow Creek to Henford-on-Bagley having its own theme that is reflected in its residents.

But yesterday, something happened that I've been fearing for a long time, and I only noticed it by chance: One of my played sims got culled. Granted, she wasn't technically a played sim at the time, or at least not a member of the exclusive "favourites" club, which I have to manage carefully because I've already created more than 200 sims and can't keep them all in there at once. I don't want to increase the maximum sim count either because of potential performance issues (loading already takes forever as it is...), but until yesterday, I was convinced that sims who own a lot somewhere in the world weren't affected by culling either.

I'm pretty sure that she was in fact culled, not lost in some other way, because when I checked her father's family tree, she wasn't there at all. Had she just died off-screen without me noticing, she would have shown up as a ghost at least. Fortunately, I had an older version of the save from a few days earlier where she still existed. Putting her in the library from there and moving her in again in the current save didn't take much time or effort. But now I'm worried about the rest of my sim world, currently consisting of 297 sims across 85 households.