Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

7 years and babies are still objects - is it time to make them sims?

Comments

• hymnhehimhymnhehim Posts: 518 Member
    I prefer object babies, sorry.
    Hey, I'm Milo (he/him)! I love The Sims 4, and I've been playing it since December of 2020. My Sims bestie and forums bestie is Gonnawin1111, aka V.
  • SindocatSindocat Posts: 5,622 Member
    I leave babies in the larval stage only long enough for parents to perform the handful of interactions supported, and to assure that any prior toddlers still menacing my households have progressed at least far enough to use the potty without assistance, then age them up to see whose looks they inherited (I can tell better from toddlers than children, though one doesn't get a real look until the teen years).

Babies pretty much eat, fuss, sleep and poop, and drastically interrupt adult sleep-schedules and other routines, and don't begin to become more interesting until they become ambulatory and begin to be able to share their thoughts. Without real agency, or means to express needs and wants, it makes perfect sense for babies to be highly demanding furniture. I feel this captures the essence of new parenthood just fine.

No need to mess with a simulation that covers the real essentials.

I enjoy toddlers, children and teens. Taking a baby out of a bassinet for a sink bath or a changing table or to lug around and force strangers to admire would not give me more to enjoy - I'd simply worry that the baby would get lost. I know where I keep the bassinet. Where am I going to put the rest of that stuff? Are undirected sims going to be taking the baby places, then going off to do other things? No - it's just a minefield I don't care to navigate.
  • BabykittyjadeBabykittyjade Posts: 4,975 Member
    edited August 2021
    Well I still think they will be freed. Some people tend to give up because it doesn't happen open night. They literally work on things for "years"