Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Next pack drop date based on the maths

TLDR: I am a nerdy engineer who played with some statistical methods to predict within +/-32 days the next pack drop dates.

I am excited for whatever the next pack is so I did some math. I'm an engineer and I get to play in Excel a lot at work. One of the easiest things I do is create interpolations and extrapolations based upon collected data to predict future trends that help operators run equipment more efficiently or determine maintenance dates, etc, etc. So this only took me about an hour to pull everything into a spreadsheet and work some magic. It was also really fun! (Can you tell I love my job?)

So if you know anything about Excel, you already know how extremely difficult it is to get it to recognize date formats and do math with them so I converted all the release dates into days based upon January 1, 2015 (The year the first pack dropped) and made an assumption that each month has 30 days. I put days on the y-axis and pack number on the x-axis. For pack number, I counted Outdoor Retreat as Pack #1 and Paranormal as Pack #37 and the first three kits I combined into Pack #38 because they did not release on unique dates and thus would be a statistical irregularity that would throw off my calculations. Once I completed my date conversions, I graphed it and produced a linear fit trendline which I then used to go back and interpolate each individual pack release date to get a standard deviation so I know how accurate my fit line is. It was NOT accurate. I had an STD of 66 days. Here is the first graph.

F67qaqY.png