Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

I am (overall) very impressed...

Okay, after having played Sims 3 on-and-off since the southern hemisphere autumn of 2012... I decided to get Sims 4 at the start of this month.

Suffice to say, I am blown away.

What I like:
  1. Loading and Saving: I hated the fact Sims 3 would take so long to load, and even longer to save; I'd burn about five minutes a piece on loading and saving.
  2. Lag: My device is a mid-range 2018 model; I expected it to run Sims 3 better than my high-end 2015 model (five years later, it's now mid-range), and definitely a LOT better than my Windows XP dinosaur with the minimum graphics settings. Well, it definitely ran better than the dinosaur, but the 2015 and 2018 models have not really any difference. In fact, my 2015 model has no issues running Skyrim - it's old, but cared for very well - and in fact runs it better than Sims 3. I started playing Sims 4, and everything is so seamless and lag-free; even on higher graphics settings.
  3. Motives: What ground my gears so much in Sims 3 was how the motives would decay so fast; I could never, ever play more than two Sims in one household... and no school-aged children, either! Sims 4 has improved on this a lot, and so I feel confident playing children in my games.
  4. Perks: I have Get Famous, Vampires, and Realm of Magic. I have played Vampires most heavily, and I love the perks tree so much. I'm taking baby steps to get into the fame system, so I can't speak for that because I don't even have a single star yet. Realm of Magic is my newest pack, but I love what little I've seen of it. I really do like how you can choose your perks, because there's so many abilities in Sims 3 that I didn't really like... there's a literal smorgasbord in Sims 4, and you don't have to pick ones you'll never use. It gives you something to work towards, too.