Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Why parties aren't as fun as they could be:

SimmerGeorgeSimmerGeorge Posts: 2,724 Member
Hey guys,

So I have been playing The Sims 4 since 2014 and one thing I was really excited about was the parties. Now I love parties and I really liked them in The Sims 2 because the "fun" would just happen on its own most of the times. However I was very dissapointed in the Sims 3 parties because of all the sims getting stuck in front of doors and general glitching.
I liked how in the Sims 4 there were goals to fulfill for each type of party and the multitasking made eating and socializing better etc. However I soon realized that I didn't enoy the parties very much. These are the reasons why:

1. the goals for the parties are way too similar and I can never tell the difference

2. the group chat of death: Which is basically the name I have for when all my 12 guests start chatting with each other in this huge group of people for the whole night and do nothing else than sit there, talk and play musical chairs.

3. Nobody ever touches the food or the drinks and if they do they usually sit down to eat in the most random places like the pool which is annoying especially when you are throwing a dinner party and want the sims to eat at the table together.

4. No party AI: I don't even think Sims are programmed to realize they are in a party and act a different way than normal. They will arrive at my house and choose to play "blickblock" over dancing with the rest, or they will choose to go to my basement and do nothing instead of eating all the food I made, they'll watch TV in my kid's bedroom and fully ignore the rest of the group.