Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Hey Builders advice wanted

Hey there! <waves excitedly>

I'm a baby builder and new to it (Getting better!) But I was wondering what are other builder's tips and tricks or general advice for improving one's build game? Good starting points, the whole shebang.

Also while you're at share with me your proudest build! The one where you were like "Yes! I've arrived" lol so to speak.

Comments

• GwinielGwiniel Posts: 996 Member
    1. Make sure it's playable.
    2. If you are unsure, get inspiration from real buildings and interior designs - Google is your friend.
    3. Don't be afraid of using MOO (as long as you play test your entire build after it's done before you share it and make sure it works)
    4. Learn from what other players have done and "take" ideas to your own works. (As long as you aren't flat out stealing.. in other words uploading someone else's work that you've changed a tiny bit - that's a huge no no!) Challenges are an exception as you have to upload the challenge host's creation but those always have proper tags.
    5. Take a look at building tutorials - i.e. Kate Emerald has done amazing tutorials!
    6. Don't make massive rooms and leave them half empty (i.e. there's no point having a room that's say 10x14 squares, if it only has a bed and a wardrobe) In sims 4 the sims can function is way much less space than in any previous sims games! It's a trial and error to learn.
    7. Enjoy what you do, it's supposed to be fun after all :D

Builds I'm proudest of (as I can't possibly choose just 1):

Marshal Hall Is actually my 2nd build in sims 4 when I only had the base game without any packs.
    Don't have a picture in imgur.

Eternal Gardens Was experimenting with terrain tools, pools and jets.
    ShYhfez.jpg

Mermaid's Call Was personally a huge challenge for me - spent a lot of time researching old ships.

Willow Creek Greenhouse A mammoth build for me that I was very proud of.