September 24 - Everyone ready for the Friday Highlight? It's ready for you here!

Sims 2 and graphics rules maker.

BessiebooBessieboo Posts: 199 Member
I have installed sims 2 disc version onto my new windows 10 laptop, just the base game at the moment. have played briefly and other than black squares underneath the sims its seems to be working quite well so do I still need to download the graphics rules maker?

Comments

  • SPARKY1922SPARKY1922 Posts: 4,831 Member
    Hi @Bessieboo,

    I don't play discs I use the UC version which plays fine on windows 10 for me I just use a mod that takes away those black blocks under sims feet as far as graphic rules maker is concerned it depends if you want further screen resolution sizes ( and most of us do-) however it works for some players but not others and unfortunately I fell into the latter category so I followed the instructions on the following link and that worked for me instead.

    https://simsvip.com/2014/07/20/the-sims-2-ultimate-collection-increase-resolution-guide/

    I am aware it states the UC version but think it should work for the disc version of the game as well unless another player comes along and corrects me on that.

    the mod to remove black blocks under the sims feet is from Nopke at MTS if you were looking for that as well.

    http://modthesims.info/d/569585/sim-shadow-fix-updated-2-jan-16.html
  • BessiebooBessieboo Posts: 199 Member
    SPARKY1922 wrote: »
    Hi @Bessieboo,

    I don't play discs I use the UC version which plays fine on windows 10 for me I just use a mod that takes away those black blocks under sims feet as far as graphic rules maker is concerned it depends if you want further screen resolution sizes ( and most of us do-) however it works for some players but not others and unfortunately I fell into the latter category so I followed the instructions on the following link and that worked for me instead.

    https://simsvip.com/2014/07/20/the-sims-2-ultimate-collection-increase-resolution-guide/

    I am aware it states the UC version but think it should work for the disc version of the game as well unless another player comes along and corrects me on that.

    the mod to remove black blocks under the sims feet is from Nopke at MTS if you were looking for that as well.

    http://modthesims.info/d/569585/sim-shadow-fix-updated-2-jan-16.html

    Thank you for the advice SPARKY1922. :)
  • SPARKY1922SPARKY1922 Posts: 4,831 Member
    @Bessieboo

    You are most welcome I hope your game is running as you wish it to now :)
  • JanoJano Posts: 84 Member
    Hi. Have been trying to change my sims 2 resolution but when it comes to apply changes a box comes up to say i dont have permission to change them. does anyone know if I can get round this.
  • DevalaousDevalaous Posts: 1,124 Member
    the graphics rules thing has only broken my games and made them worse, or not run at all. Manual editing of the graphicsrules ini always serves me better. You basically just have to make everything use high settings no matter what, and change all instances of simpleterrain from true to false. Got the UC working perfectly on Windows 10, in high resolution, everything high settings. Works with the three Stories games too.
    Rebuilding Sims 2 inside Sims 3 one lot and sim at a time.

    See my Sims 3 studio for latest progress.
  • Lucy_HenleyLucy_Henley Posts: 556 Member
    I had graphics issues after installing Apartment Life recently (I’d never had it before). Graphics rules maker was fine for me. I have every EP apart from Bon Voyage and every SP apart from Glamour Life and Mansion and Garden. My graphics had been fine before installing AL, though. I installed it because the “smooth edges” option had been greyed out for some reason.
    I guess graphics rules maker works for some players and not for others, which is annoying!
    Sims 3 Families: Sanchezes, Fairy Friends, Jenningses
    Sims 4 Families: Fosters/Matsumotos/van Beerses, Harper-Joneses, Mastersons
  • Sonshine77Sonshine77 Posts: 142 Member
    edited August 19
    Hi, I've been having the same issue w/the screen resolution. I'm stuck w/the 800x600 regardless of what I do. I've tried editing the graphics rules in the screenmoderesolution section to 1920x1080 on the first 2 lines of each of the 3 sections, but it just does not work. :( I tried editing the graphics rules in M&G, but I get "access denied." I have the disc versions of all of the ep's of the game.

    Edit to add: I have the original disk versions of the game and not UC.
    Post edited by Sonshine77 on
  • SPARKY1922SPARKY1922 Posts: 4,831 Member
    edited August 30
    Hi @Sonshine77

    I am using the UC version of the game so the links I provided in the above post worked for me however graphics rules never did and I am not sure why.

    I remembered when i was looking for info I am almost sure the following 2 web links might be able to help better with the disc version of the game re your screen resolution. It might not work either but just a thought. The players over at Leefish are always helpful as well.

    http://www.🌺🌺🌺🌺/mybb/showthread.php?tid=5446 l e e f i s h where the flowers are in the link

    https://www.wsgf.org/dr/sims-2
  • Sonshine77Sonshine77 Posts: 142 Member
    I never was able to get it to go beyond 800x600. :( I finally just transferred my saved game over to an older comp. It works there! This is a comp issue and not a sims one. It happened after I d/led the last update for win 7 which only gave edge and maybe some "features" of win 10. :(
  • SPARKY1922SPARKY1922 Posts: 4,831 Member
    @Sonshine77

    I am so pleased you found something that worked in the end. I constantly worry about what I might loose with S2 if I have to a reinstall of my OS..
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top