Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Simaholics Anonymous

classicXcrimeclassicXcrime Posts: 175 Member
edited September 2016 in The Sims (2000)
Let me start off this post by saying that I am a long-time Sim fan. I started playing when I was 10, the first year that The Sims was out. Originally, I didn’t have a computer at home, so whenever I was at my grandparent’s house, I would be holed up in the computer room playing to my heart’s content. I got my best friend hooked, and we would have “simming days” where we would just sit in her room and switch between playing our own families and watching the other. We each owned every single EP.

When The Sims 2 was released, we were both overjoyed. Aging? Genetics? Family Trees? Wishes and fears? It was all so new and exciting! I’m pretty sure I watched the sneak preview CD that they sent out with Makin’ Magic a hundred times. I got up to Seasons and then because I did not have a computer of my own I stopped playing for a while, but the things they introduced (Seasons, University, Apartments, etc.) were amazing, and propelled the game forward, adding so much content and life to a game that was already great to begin with. Then news of The Sims 3 came out, and I literally bought a laptop just so I could play the game. And despite all of the bugs and the lagging and the general strain that it would place on my laptop, it was still extremely enjoyable and a monumental step forward with it’s Open World and extensive CASt tools. Everything was so customizable. The game kept me enthralled for years (at least until Island Paradise and Into the Future, those two EPs just weren’t exactly my cup of tea).