Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Solution to Free Positioning of Objects on Tables and Other Surfaces

Maybe someone has posted this somewhere but darned if I could find it. I'm new to the Sims universe and have developed a real love of building/decorating but ran into a problem when positioning items on tables and other surfaces. Despite using "Alt" and the "Moveobjects" cheat items on tables, etc would still lock to the surface's grid. It drove me crazy because I wanted to put stuff where I wanted. Then I figured out a work around. First I put the surface in place. Then I put what I want to put on it on it. Finally I move the surface well out of the way and using "Alt" and "Moveobjects" I drag each object to where the surface was and position how I like. With the surface out of the way the objects use the floor grid which is much more flexible in positioning. It takes a bit of shuffling the surface back and forth to get the positioning just right but it works perfectly.

Anyway, if this is already common knowledge I apologize but I dug around for days trying to find a solution and it wasn't until I figured this out on my own that I was happy with the results.

Hoping this helps at least one other person. :)

Comments

• MistyDoveMistyDove Posts: 695 Member
    edited September 2016
    It didn't know this actually, I'll have to test this when I go into my game. Thanks for sharing!
  • WilCat74WilCat74 Posts: 14 New Member
    Jaquelette wrote: »